Ephrata Area Joint Authority

  • 7 p.m.
  • Third Thursday of each month, as needed
  • Borough Office
    124 S. State St.
The following members are part of the authority and each represents a specific area:
  • Dan Burkholder, Ephrata Borough
  • Gary Landis, Clay Township
  • Thomas Reinhold, Ephrata Borough
  • Steve Sawyer, Ephrata Township
  • Gregory Schmuck, Clay Township
  • Clark Stauffer, Ephrata Township
Duties & Authority Information
The Ephrata Area Joint Authority (EAJA) is comprised of three municipalities: Ephrata Borough, Ephrata Township, and Clay Township. Authority members serve five-year staggered terms with each municipality appointing two members. The primary purpose of the authority is to provide water utilities to the member municipalities.

The Borough of Ephrata is the contract manager for the Authority Water System. The authority produces over 700 million gallons of water annually to serve more than 8,000 customers in the three-municipality area.

Of the two million gallons of water used daily approximately one half comes from the Cocalico Creek and the other half comes from groundwater wells. EAJA has three wells, one located along East Fulton Street, one along Akron Road, and the other located off of Steinmetz Road. EAJA also has four storage tanks that can store a two-day supply of water.

The authority is continually upgrading the distribution system to improve service and reduce water losses.