Zoning Hearing Board

Meeting Schedule for 2020


 Meeting Date Application Deadline 
Wednesday, January 15, 2020  Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 Friday, January 24, 2020 
Wednesday, March 18, 2020  Friday, February 21, 2020 
Wednesday, April 15, 2020  Friday, March 20, 2020 
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 Friday, April 24, 2020 
Wednesday, June 17,2020  Friday, May 22, 2020 
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 
Friday June 19, 2020 
Wednesday, August 19, 2020   Friday July 24, 2020 
Wednesday, September 16, 2020  Friday August 21, 2020  
Wednesday, October 21, 2020    Friday September 25, 2020  
Wednesday, November 18, 2020  Friday October 23, 2020  
Wednesday, December 16, 2020  Friday November 20, 2020   


Members


  • James Kiefer, Chairman
  • David Martin, Vice Chairman
  • Glen Mellinger
  • Chad Ochs
  • Dennis Rowe

 Learn More

Zoning ordinances are established by Borough Council. The Zoning Hearing Board applies the ordinances to applications for special exceptions, nonconforming uses, and variance requests. They also hear appeals of decisions made by the zoning officer. The board is charged with the responsibility of approving or denying all applications and appeals. In rendering a decision, the board considers testimony, as well as the impact on the community.

Due to COVID-19, Ephrata Borough will be broadcasting Zoning Hearing meetings through the virtual platform, ZOOM. 

If you want to make public comment, ask questions, observe or be a party to the meeting, you must register by completing the online form which can be opened HERE. Fill out the form and submit it to receive an email on the day of the meeting with the meeting ID and instructions to join the live zoom meeting. 

You may also register by calling the Zoning Officer at 717-738-9202 Ext. 124 or emailing him at zrineer@ephrataboro.org.

Any of the above options will allow us to recognize you during the public meeting and allow you to speak at the appropriate time. Due to sunshine laws requirements, the board members are not permitted to discuss the case with anyone prior to the meeting.

Once you join the ZOOM meeting you will be able hear and see the board members, but will only see and hear registered guests once they are recognized by the board to present their case or to make public comments and to ask questions. Until a registered guest is recognized, or if you are simply observing the hearing, your audio and video will be turned off.



Friday September 20, 2019